A Week of Love

First off I would like to thank our wonderful parents, siblings, and friends for all their kind wishes and support…you all mean so much to us! I have had many people ask about how it all happened and what better way to share this special time with all of you then through my wedding blog!?

I had an idea that Ryan was going to propose soon because he told me that before we moved to California in May he wanted to be engaged. I also knew something was going on because my Dad called me more than normal this past week asking if anything exciting had happened…when normally he asks “give him some scoop.”

The initial proposal took place on Thursday night. The night before Ryan asked if I wanted to go to the Potosi Brewery because he was CRAVING it. I LOVE this place but thought to myself who craves that place when its 45 minutes away? But without hesitation said yes. Dinner was nice, with normal conversation.

Later, we went across the street to the Brewing plant and took pictures. On the way back he mentioned he wanted to stop by his parents house to give something to his nephews and I was fine with it because I really had to pee. I even asked him if the next stop we were going was his parents because I needed to go so badly! He said yes…but then drove the opposite direction. I had no idea where we were going until the car stopped. He asked if I was going to get out of the car…and I said “am I supposed to pee in the bushes?” As I got out I saw him open his trunk and reach for something…

Now let me explain to you how my week went up to this point. On Monday we went to RadioShack (where we first met) and to Perkins (our first date). On Tuesday we went to our favorite Chinese restaurant (where we became official), the arboretum, and a movie. Wednesday he took me to the Village Inn (a cute diner I love!) and then Thursday we went to the Potosi Brewery and to Cleveland Park.

At Cleveland Park he took out a small bottle of Moscato (my favorite wine) and the ring from his trunk and explained that everything we had done this past week was for a reason…a week of love! He then got down on one knee and asked if I would marry him. I said YES of course! It was so beautiful! Since it was at night we could see all of down town Dubuque lit up! We were cold so we didn’t stay there for very long. I couldn’t stop smiling, and I find that I still cannot stop smiling 🙂

I am in awe of how much thought Ryan put into this week to make our engagement so meaningful…it is one of the many reasons why I love him so much! I cannot wait to start our lives together with a move to California and a wedding to follow in 2013.

Thank you all again for your support and endless love. We look forward to growing old together and having our friends and family there beside us to enjoy the ride…for better or for worse 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Week of Love

  1. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was once totally right. This put up truly made my day. You can not imagine just how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    • I am glad to hear you are able to get a lot of information out of this blog, Bap. If there is something you would like to know more about please let me know and I will see what I can do to help. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

